Tony Fraser joins StarFlight Australia board

StarFlight Australia, a subsidiary of Fox Group Holdings and LifeFlight Australia, has appointed Tony Fraser to the Board as a Director.

Mr Fraser brings more than 45 years’ experience spanning defence, industry and commercial sectors.

During a decorated 34-year defence career, he reached the rank of Major General where he commanded at all levels in Army Aviation. Overseas service included the UK, Middle East, Canada and the US.

He was Managing Director Australasia for Leonardo and then Airbus Australia Pacific, before returning to Defence as Deputy Secretary Capability Acquisition and Sustainment in the Department of Defence from 2018-2022.

Mr Fraser has accrued more than 5500 flying hours, mostly in helicopters and was the first Army aviation instructor to achieve an A1 rating.

“StarFlight is an impressive Australian company and I am looking forward to working with the Board to help drive growth and continued quality aviation operations supporting Australians in need,” he said.

In addition to his military career courses, Mr Fraser is a graduate of the Harvard Business School. He’s also recognised as an Officer in the Order of Australia and a Conspicuous Service Cross.

StarFlight Australia Chair, Dennis Richardson, welcomed the appointment and said Mr Fraser’s wealth of experience would greatly benefit the organisation’s robust growth trajectory.

“On behalf of the Board, I welcome Tony’s appointment at what is an exciting time for StarFlight,” said Mr Richardson, a former Secretary of the Australian Department of Defence.

“Tony’s vast experience will give the Board another layer of expertise as we take the business to the next level with several commercial opportunities in the pipeline.

“We’re looking forward to leaning on Tony’s experience and guidance, as we further develop the business and target opportunities aligned with the organisation’s specialist capabilities in aeromedicine and aviation.”

Mr Fraser joins fellow StarFlight Australia Board members Dennis Richardson (Chair), David Fox (Director), Hon. Jim Elder (Director), Ashley van de Velde (Director) and Brett Quarrell (Director).